Union Minister to Inaugurate International Ayurveda Conference


Thrissur: As part of the valedictory of the platinum jubilee celebrations of Ashtavaidyan Thaikkattu Moos Vaidyaratnam Oushadhasala, an international Ayurveda Conference will be inaugurated by Sripad Yesso Naik, Union Ayush Minister, on January 13.

The three-day conference, which begins on January 13, will be held at Lulu International Convention Centre here. The conference is organised in association with the Ayush Departments of the State and the Central Governments. K K Shylaja, State Health Minister, will be the chief guest on the occasion. The conference will honour Padma Bhushan Dr. P K Warrier, Managing Trustee, Kottakal Aryavaidyasala and Padma Vibhooshan Dr. M S Valiathan, former VC, Manipal University.  Ashtavaidyan E T Narayanan Moos, Chairman and Managing Director, Vaidyaratnam Group of Companies, will preside over the function.

C N Jayadevan MP, O Rajagopal MLA, Dr. Ajith M Sharan, Secretary, Ministry of Ayush;  Dr. B Ashok, Secretary, Kerala Ayush Department; P R Krishnakumar, CMD, Coimbatore Arya Vaidya Pharmacy; Dr. P M Warrier, Trustee and Deputy Chief Physician, Aryavaidyashala, Kottakkal;  Dr. A Kowsigan  IAS, Thrissur District Collector, Dr. V Arunachalam, President CCIM, Ministry of Ayush, Dr. A.N Radhakrishnan, Chairman, Make in India, among others, will speak on the occasion. Dr. E T Neelakantan, Vaidyaratnam Group Director and Vajra 2016 General Secretary, will welcome the gathering. Many papers on lifestyle diseases and Ayurvedic treatment will be presented at the conference. More than 1,500 doctors are expected to participate in the event. Of these, 100 doctors will be from outside India.

A website, www.vajra2016.com, has been launched to provide information and to register in the conference.

The concluding session of the Platinum Jubilee Celebrations will be inaugurated by A C Moideen, State Industries Minister. V S Sunil Kumar, State Agriculture Minister will preside over the function. Prof. C Ravindra Nath, Education Minister will distribute awards to experts in the field of Ayurveda in the presence of Ashtavaidyan E T Narayanan Mooss.

The social security scheme, introduced for Ayurveda dealers, will be inaugurated by Sheela Vijayakumar, District Panchayat President. K Rajan MLA; Dr A Nalinakshan, Pro Vice-Chancellor, KUHAS; Therambil Ramakrishnan, ex-MLA, among others, will speak on the occasion.