Dr. K K Aggarwal Takes Oath as IMA National President


Thiruvananthapuram: Padma Shri Dr. K K Aggarwal was sworn in as the 88th President of Indian Medical Association (IMA) the other day.

Dr. R N Tandon will support him as the Association’s Honorary Secretary-General. IMA is the largest representative organisation of doctors of modern scientific medicine in the world with over 2.8 lakh registered members, 1700 local and 30 state branches.

The installation of IMA’s new Governing Body took place at its 77thCentral Council Meeting – NATCON’16 in the presence of Dr. Ketan Desai, President, World Medical Association; Dr. Jayshree Ben Mehta, President, Medical Council of India and A R Kohli, Former Governor of Mizoram.

After taking, Dr. Aggarwal said, “It fills me with utmost pride and joy to assume charge as the IMA National President. I vow to take my work forward with dedication, integrity and honesty. I look forward to working with Team Digital IMA. The real strength of IMA lies in its unity and a collective commitment to the betterment of the medical profession, and it is for this reason that the theme for the coming year will be ‘IMA One Voice.”

Congratulating the new team, Dr. Ketan Desai said: “Team IMA 2017’s vision of becoming a digitally superior, cashless and transparent organisation is commendable and heralds a promising future for the medical fraternity. I congratulate the new team and as the World Medical Association’s President, promise my commitment to highlighting the key success and issues faced by the Indian medical fraternity at a global forum.”